Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design Goes on Hiatus for 2020
[ Back ]   [ More News ]   [ Home ]
Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design Goes on Hiatus for 2020

Award Will Resume in 2021

MILPITAS, CALIF. –– November 10, 2020 –– The Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design will be on hiatus until September 2021, the Electronic System Design Alliance (ESD Alliance) and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) announced today.

“Members of the selection committee made the difficult but understandable decision to postpone this year’s award,” remarks Bob Smith, executive director of the ESD Alliance. “The dinner ceremony is central to celebrating the recipient’s contributions to the industry and accomplishments. Hosting an in-person awards dinner in early 2021 is unlikely, which made postponing the 2020 award inevitable.”

Nominations submitted in 2020 will be treated as new nominations for 2021. As always, past nominations from 2017 through 2019 will also be considered for 2021. Additional nominations will be solicited in early 2021.

Presented since 1994, the Phil Kaufman Award honors individuals who have had a demonstrable impact on the field of electronic system design through technology innovations, education/mentoring, or business or industry leadership. Its first recipient was Hermann K. Gummel. Since then, recipients include academics, technologists, entrepreneurs, business leaders and investors.

Last year’s recipient was Dr. Mary Jane Irwin, Evan Pugh Professor and A. Robert Noll Chair Emeritus in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Pennsylvania State University.

The Phil Kaufman Award was established as a tribute to Phil Kaufman, the late industry pioneer who turned innovative technologies into commercial businesses that have benefited electronic designers.

About the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA)

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across seven IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Electronics Packaging, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid-State Circuits). The Council sponsors or co-sponsors over a dozen key EDA conferences including: the Design Automation Conference (DAC), Asia and South Pacific Design Automation Conference (ASP-DAC), International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD), Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE), and events at Embedded Systems Week (ESWEEK). The Council also publishes IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits & Systems (TCAD), IEEE Design & Test (D&T), and IEEE Embedded Systems Letters (ESL). The Council boasts a prestigious awards program in order to promote the recognition of leading EDA professionals, which includes the A. Richard Newton, Phil Kaufman, and Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Awards. The Council welcomes new volunteers and local chapters.

Stay in touch with IEEE CEDA:





About the Electronic System Design Alliance

The Electronic System Design (ESD) Alliance, a SEMI Strategic Technology Community representing members in the electronic system and semiconductor design ecosystem, is a community that addresses technical, marketing, economic and legislative issues affecting the entire industry. It acts as the central voice to communicate and promote the value of the semiconductor design ecosystem as a vital component of the global electronics industry.

Follow the ESD Alliance

ESD Alliance Bridging the Frontier blog

Twitter: @ESDAlliance